North Wales and Dee Estuary Coastal Path

The North Wales and Dee Estuary section of the All Wales Path stretches from the English border, close to the City of Chester, to the Menai Strait and the City of Bangor.

The path passes by the Deeside town of Flint, with its 13th Century castle, before reaching Point of Ayr at Talacre with its prominent lighthouse and wide stretches of golden sands.

The path continues through the seaside resorts of Prestatyn and Rhyl  before leaving Denbighshire at the crossing of the River Clwyd to Conwy County and the towns of Kinmel Bay, Abergele and Pensarn. Rounding the headland at Llanddulas the path meanders along the coastline to Penmaen-head and the wide sweep of the Bay of Colwyn.

The Bay of Colwyn is home to both the Porth Eirias Watersports Centre and the Rhos-on-Sea Watersports Centre at Rhos Point.

Rounding Rhos Point the path heads toward the Little Orme and, following a short climb, the path drops to the Victorian promenade on Llandudno Bay before  another climb to the Great Orme and fine views of the Conwy Estuary and the hills of Snowdonia.

Following the descent of the Great Orme the path follows the line of the North Wales Cycle Path – alongside the Conwy Estuary – through Deganwy and on toward the medieval walled town of Conwy and the impressive fortress of Conwy Castle – a World Heritage Site.

Leaving Conwy there are two options , the flat coastal route, or the uplands detour that veers away from the coast taking you over Conwy Mountain, through the foothills of the Carneddau Range at the rear of Penmaenmawr, before dropping back down to the coast at Llanfairfechan.

The uplands detour is the more scenic route and the historic remains of the Druids Circle on the hills behind Penmaenmawr are worth the climb alone.

On reaching Llanfairfechan the path rejoins the North Wales Coast Path alongside the nature reserve on the wide expanse of sands known as the Lavan Sands.

From here the All Wales Path separates into two sections as one option heads north to Anglesey across the Menai Strait, while the other continues in a westerly direction alongside the Menai Strait toward the Llyn peninsula.